Link to Home Page

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MassAnswers logo and link to AskaLibrarian page

 

 

Graphic

General Resources: Magazines, Journals & Reference Sources from Gale InfoTrac

Library Use

Remote Access

Academic OneFile
Use this comprehensive periodical resource of full-text peer-reviewed content for over 10,000 manually indexed journals and reference works covering all subjects, including the full-text of The New York Times back to 1995 and NPR, CNN & CBC transcripts and podcasts. 

Library Use

Remote Access

Expanded Academic ASAP
Articles from scholarly, trade and general-interest publications. Topics include arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technologies, and other academic disciplines. Full-text, abstracts, and citations to articles from 1980 - present.

Library Use

Remote Access

General Reference Center Gold
Articles from magazines, journals, and reference books of general interest, including current events, business, consumer help, and popular culture. Full-text, abstracts, and citations from 1980 - present, updated daily.

Library Use

Remote Access

InfoTrac OneFile
Use this comprehensive periodical resource for any subject. Coverage goes back to 1980- with over 9,200 titles (5,156 full-text). 

Library Use

Remote Access

Educator's Reference Complete
Use this mainly full-text collection of over 1100 periodicals and 200 reports for educational research from preschool to college.  Every educational specialty can be found here including technology, health and bilingual education, testing, and issues in administration, funding and policy.

Library Use

Remote Access

Massachusetts History Online
Contains full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to Massachusetts history, both past and present, including people, places, historical events and more.

Library Use

Remote Access

New York Times Backfile
Search the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1995).

Library Use

Remote Access

Virtual Reference Library
A mix of more than 20 full-text reference books covering the arts, biography, business, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, geography, and science.

Newspapers

Each local newspaper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.

Library Use

Remote Access

Springfield Republican, Springfield MA (via Newsbank)
(1988 - current) Available to library cardholders from Western Mass. only.

Library Use

Remote Access

Massachusetts Newsstand
Full-text coverage of the 12 Massachusetts newspapers listed below.

Library Use

Remote Access

Berkshire Eagle
Full-text coverage for Pittsfield, MA, Berkshire County, and 4 nearby New York communities from 2005.

Library Use

Remote Access

Boston Globe
Full-text coverage from 1980

Library Use

Remote Access

Boston Herald
Full-text coverage from from 1991

Library Use

Remote Access

BusinessWest (Chicopee)
Full-text bi-weekly business journal for western MA from 1992

Library Use

Remote Access

North Adams Transcript
Full-text news, commentary, obituaries, classified and information on the northern Berkshire region from 2005.

Library Use

Remote Access

Patriot Ledger (Quincy)
Full-text coverage from 1991.

Library Use

Remote Access

Plymouth County Business Review
Full-text business news for Plymouth County & southeastern MA from 1991.

Library Use

Remote Access

Sentinel & Enterprise (Fitchburg)
Full-text coverage of news for Fitchburg from 2005.

Library Use

Remote Access

The Sun (Lowell)
Full-text coverage of news from Lowell, MA & the Merrimack Valley from 2004.

Library Use

Remote Access

Telegram & Gazette (Worcester)
Full-text coverage of  Worcester and Central Massachusetts news from1989.

Library Use

Remote Access

Gazette (Haverhill) 12/31/92 to 8/9/97 only

Library Use

Remote Access

Standard Times (New Bedford) 1/4/92 to 8/19/97 only

Consumer & Education Resources

The Rosetta Stone language database is no longer available.

Library Use

Remote Access

Chilton's Auto Repair
ChiltonLibrary.com provides quick online access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs on the road today. Ford, Chrysler, GM. Honda, Toyota and numerous other makes are well-represented. Step-by-step instructions, which include helpful diagrams, are provided for work on the engine, chassis, electrical, drive train, suspension, and more. Wiring diagrams, maintenance schedules, and recall and service bulletins are included. Requires a Springfield City Library card. Note: Not Mac-compatible.

Library Use

Remote Access

Learning Express (Learn-A-Test)
Practice for such tests as the GED, SAT and AP, ASVAB, Civil Service, TOEFL, and many others in the privacy of your home. Recently updated to include practice tests on the new SAT 2005. Register with your library card number and a password of your choice. Requires a Springfield City Library card.

Library Use & Remote Access

 

Auralog's TellMeMore Language Learning Program
Language learning program which includes English (ESL), Spanish (Spain & South America), Italian, French, German, and Dutch. Requires IE 5.0 or above browser. Click here for system requirements. Requires a Springfield Library Card (capitalize initial 'D'). Not Mac compatible. Click here for a Getting Started Guide. Requires software downloads. Do not use Database computers in Central Library.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Biographies

Library Use
(Central Library only)
Encyclopedia Americana
Over 45,000 articles with bibliographies, article-to-article links, internet links, tables, fact boxes, maps, flags, and images. Updated quarterly. Includes Americana Journal, a database of newsworthy current events compiled weekly, and the Wall Street Journal Almanac, a collection of articles, tables, and graphs organized in chapters.
Library Use
(Central Library only)
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
Main page features searching and browsing capabilities, news, timelines, research guide, and dictionary. Games and quizzes found in "Brain Jam" section. Spanish-English dictionary and Roget's Thesaurus found in "dictionary" section.
Library Use
(Central Library only)
Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre en Linea
Una enciclopedia general con artículos breves y profundos sobre la geografía, la historia, el lenguaje y la literatura, las ciencias, la sociedad, los deportes, la tecnología y las artes visuales. Incluye ilustraciones, fotos, estadísticas, banderas, mapas y enlaces a sitios del Web que contienen información relacionada al tema de los artículos.
Library Use
(Central Library only)
BGMI (Biography & Genealogy Master Index)
Citations to reference books and other publications containing biographical material on persons, both living and deceased, including authors, scientists, athletes, fashion designers, musicians, etc. Entries contain names, birth/death years and citations to published articles. Results indicate which items include portraits. Contains 4 million+ names and points to 1,000+ publications. Please consult a librarian for assistance in locating reference materials.

Library Use

Remote Access

Biography Resource Center (Gale InfoTrac)
Thousands of online full-text biographies from Gale reference books. Includes Encyclopedia of World Biography, Who's Who Among African-Americans, Maclean's, Contemporary Authors, and many more important biographical reference sources. Search by name, occupation, ethnicity, and more. Includes portraits where available, and links to thumbnail bios and online periodical articles from other InfoTrac databases where appropriate.
Library Use Merriam-Webster Unabridged
Access to the full-text of Merriam-Webster's flagship dictionary, plus the Collegiate Dictionary, Collegiate Thesaurus, and Merriam-Webster Atlas. Courtesy of the Merriam-Webster Company.

History

Library Access

Remote Access

American History Online (Facts on File)
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.

Library Access

Remote Access

American Women's History Online (Facts on File)
Covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women's history in the United States.

Library Access

Remote Access

African-American History Online (Facts on File)
Provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history.

 

Literature and Art

Library Use

Remote Access

Biography Resource Center (Gale InfoTrac)
Thousands of online full-text biographies from Gale reference books. Includes Contemporary Authors and many more important biographical reference sources. Search by name, occupation, ethnicity, and more. Includes portraits where available, and links to thumbnail bios and online periodical articles from other InfoTrac databases where appropriate.

Library Use

Remote Access

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select (Gale InfoTrac)
An extensive collection of more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Each CLC--Select entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, a list of principal works, critical essays, and sources for further study. Allows users to search by author name, title of work, nationality, subject/genre, ethnicity, critic name, and more.

Library Use

Remote Access

Literary Reference Center from Ebscohost
The Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a highly graphical interface intended for public, academic and high school libraries. The primary goal of LRC is to assist high school and undergraduate English and Humanities students with homework and research assignments of a literary nature. Full-text broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Includes 27,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, 140,500 author biographies, 350 literary journals, 54,000 poems, 14,500 short stories, 8400 classic texts, 4000 author interviews and more.

Library Use

Remote Access

NoveList
Need some ideas on what novels to read? This reader's advisory tool will help. Search award and prize booklists by genre; search by plot, title, or author to find similar books; browse books by subject; explore fiction through genres and subcategories; read reviews, descriptions and articles; etc. Records from your search are linked to Springfield City Library catalog searches by title or author.

Library Use

Remote Access

Grove Art Online
Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art , ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art , ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). Offers ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 2,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.

Health and Science

Library Access

Remote Access

Health Reference Center Academic (Gale InfoTrac)
Articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, substance abuse, HMOs, etc. Plus medical directories, pamphlets, and a dictionary. Materials in this database are intended for informational purposes only. Full-text, abstracts, citations from 1980 to the present, updated daily.

Library Access

Remote Access

Science Online (Facts on File)
Contains extensive information on a broad range of scientific disciplines. Includes biographies, essays on cutting-edge science issues, science experiments, diagrams and a searchable timeline of scientific and medical discoveries. Note: use capital "D" when entering library card number.

Business & Nonprofits

Library Access
(Central Library only)
Foundation Directory Online
A searchable database of 80,000+ U.S. foundations, grantmaking public charities, and corporate givers, including sponsoring company information. Additional program information and expanded application guidelines for larger funders. Links to over 7,400 grantmaker and corporate Web sites. Links to IRS 990-PF and 990 returns. See a librarian for assistance.
Library Access
(Central Library only)
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
A searchable online database of more than 6,200 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. See a librarian for assistance.

Library Access

Remote Access

General BusinessFile ASAP (Gale InfoTrac)
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Articles on business and management; directory of 150,000+ companies; investment analysts' reports on major companies and industries. Use advanced search for Company profiles, SIC descriptions, and Investext Select (investment reports & forecasts). Full-text and citations from 1980 to the present.

Library Access

Remote Access

Mergent FIS
Contains company histories, annual reports and financial data on public corporations worldwide. Search by name, SIC, revenue, ratios, etc. Search EDGAR for Securities & Exchange Commission filings. Includes Moody's Weekly News Reports. Country Profiles report on population, government, economy, geography, and local stock exchanges. Equity Portraits contain historical stock prices, volume data, records of insider trading & company vs. industry ratings. Requires a Springfield City Library card.
Library Access
(Central Library Only)
Reference USA
Search for company information by name, location, sales volume, size, or line of business. Entries include company directory data, SIC numbers, and 800 numbers and websites where available. Results can be downloaded to disk for use in Excel spreadsheets. Residential database includes ability to do reverse searches by address and telephone number.
Library Access
(See librarian for assistance)
Value Line
Information on the economy, the stock market, stocks and industries. Users can freely access feature articles, stock quotes, company reports, and an education section with portfolio suggestions and investing guides. The Investment Surveys, including the Expanded Edition, and the Mutual Fund Survey require passwords from a librarian.

Kids & Teens

Library Use

Remote Access

Kids InfoBits (Gale InfoTrac)
Meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Library Use

Remote Access

InfoTrac K-12 Junior Edition
This periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Library Use

Remote Access

InfoTrac K-12 Student Edition
This periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Library Use

Remote Access

Learning Express (Learn-A-Test)
Practice for such tests as the GED, SAT and AP, ASVAB, Civil Service, TOEFL, and many others in the privacy of your home. Recently updated to include practice tests on the new SAT 2005. Register with your library card number and a password of your choice.

Library Catalogs & Other Library Resources

Internet Access Springfield Library Catalog
Contains entries for books, videos, CD-ROMS, DVDs, audiobooks, music recordings and other materials in the Springfield Library System and other libraries in western Massachusetts. Access your library record and renew and/or request books online. If you nedd assistance, ask at the reference desk.
Internet Access C/WMARS Union Catalog
C/W MARS is a network of over 150 public, academic, school, regional, and special libraries in Central and Western Massachusetts. Members share an online computer system and have combined collections of more than 6 million items.
Internet Access Massachusetts Virtual Catalog (via C/WMARS)
The Virtual Catalog allows you to find books and other materials in multiple library catalogs with a single search. Library catalogs will continue to be added to the Virtual Catalog over the next two to three years until the majority of the online catalogs in Massachusetts is included. Choose your region (Western or Central) from the drop-down menu, enter your library card number (found on the back of your card) and choose a library for your pickup location from the menu. You may then enter the Virtual Catalog and request materials from libraries throughout Massachusetts. If you need assistance, see a librarian. Please note: the Virtual Catalog should be used only when materials are not available in Western or Central Massachusetts through the C/WMARS catalogs.

Remote Access

netLibrary® eBooks
Electronic books (e-books) on business, home-buying, careers, health, law, psychology, sports, computer, study guides, travel, 'complete idiot' guides & classics. Books are read online, and require no software downloads. Full-text searching is available.  Note: C/WMars library card holders do not need to create an account - log in with your library card via "Remote Access."
Internet Access C/WMARS Digital Catalog: Audiobooks, eBooks & Video
Patrons from C/WMARS member libraries can browse and search hundreds of great titles and download them to computers, transfer them to portable devices, or burn them onto CDs for reading and listening anywhere, anytime. A new subscription includes 284 PBS videos in the 'always available' collection. Note: OverDrive Media Console for the Mac software now available!
Internet Access CLGS Union List of Serials
Contains the serials (magazines, journals and other periodicals) holdings records of 30+ public, academic, hospital and law libraries in western Massachusetts. From the Cooperating Libraries of Greater Springfield.

Recursos en Español

Library Use
(Central Library only)
Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre en Linea
Una enciclopedia general con artículos breves y profundos sobre la geografía, la historia, el lenguaje y la literatura, las ciencias, la sociedad, los deportes, la tecnología y las artes visuales. Incluye ilustraciones, fotos, estadísticas, banderas, mapas y enlaces a sitios del Web que contienen información relacionada al tema de los artículos.

 


Home | Catalog | Databases | Branches | Kids | Teens | Calendar | Site Index